Incubator Incentives

Well, I’m back.

For those of you who thought, or, think that I abandoned my blog, well, you would be pretty much right if it hadn’t been for…let us say a little parental interference on behalf of me, my blog, and this post. 🙂

 

So, here we go.

Four weeks ago, I borrowed an incubator from a friend, wanting to try my hand at artificial hatching before I purchased one for myself. I discovered a few things that I wouldn’t want on an incubator and a few things that I would want on an incubator.

First off, when purchasing an incubator, if possible always buy one with self turning device. That really makes it way more convenient as you don’t necessarily have to be around three times a day to turn the eggs. Secondly, a really nice thing is a way to fill your humidifying device from the outside of the incubator so as to facilitate minimal releases of humidity and heat. Also a optimal feature, an electronic thermostat helps stabilise temperature and is more reliable than the ether-filled wafer system.

Now, I’m not claiming to be any kind of “hatch expert.” I’ve done this once and came out with a 17 percent hatch rate–pretty darn bad. However, I’ve read a substantial amount on the subject and can give a pretty fair opinion. Oh, another thing, try to stay away from Styrofoam incubators. The Styrofoam tends to harbor bacteria and is harder to clean

On that note, I will conclude this post and wish you luck on your own incubator buying experience–if such is your intention.

 

Coming up, the incubation journal!

Until I write again,

The Green Egg

Ameracauna Chick

Ameracauna Chick

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by agrasmussen on June 16, 2014 at 9:34 pm

    Nice post. You sound like quite the expert! Have you decided which kind of incubator you’re going to buy? I have found the styrophome to be a pain at cleaning time as well. What other material do you think would be better for cleaning, yet still have good insulation?
    Adorable chick by the way!

    Reply

    • Well thank you! Please understand however that I am really not an expert. No I have not decided yet. I think the one I want to go with is built… if you could imagine like a refrigerator’s structure, only of course the purpose is reversed.
      Hey, thanks for the comment!
      I think my favorite thing here on the blog is seeing that people actually red the post and then took the time to comment.
      Thank you!

      Reply

      • By the way, I should add that there is a book I recommend call Storey’s guide to raising Chickens, by Gail Damerow. It is my go-to book for anything concerning chickens and it has a really good section on incubators.

  2. Posted by agrasmussen on June 23, 2014 at 4:10 pm

    Hi! It sounds like you have done your research, good job! This post is well written. What other material would you recomend instead of styrofome? I have always wondered how clean it can get after a hatch because it seems to be very porous. But it is such a good insulator though, too. Very cute chick pic!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

